ENAE 788X
Planetary Surface Robotics
Fall, 2022

  Space Systems Laboratory - Department of Aerospace Engineering - University of Maryland

Home>Academics

 Notes

 220912 – I have added a few slides to the portion of Lecture 3 that we are going to cover today – please refresh and download it again to get the full slide set

 220829 – Please be advised that this is a notional schedule at this point, and is liable to future modifications as the term progresses.

 Schedule

#01 – Monday, Aug. 29 – Course Introduction/Syllabus and Term Projects [PDF: 7.7 Mb, 59 pgs.]

#02 – Wednesday, Aug. 31 – Free Space and Airless Body Mobility [PDF: 6.1 Mb, 59 pgs.]

#03 – Wednesday, Sept. 7 – Atmospheric Entry and Flight [PDF: 5.8 Mb, 55 pgs.]

#04 – Monday, Sept. 12 – LTV Overview and Term Project Discussion [PDF: 6 Mb, 31 pgs.]

#05 – Wednesday, Sept. 14 – Case Study: Apollo Lunar Roving Vehicle [PDF: 13.7 Mb, 53 pgs.]

#06 – Monday, Sept. 19 – Terramechanics 1: Rolling Resistance [PDF: 4.9 Mb, 66 pgs.] – revised 9/21/2022

#07 – Wednesday, Sept. 21 – Terramechanics 2: Traction [PDF: 2.0 Mb, 26 pgs.]

#08 – Monday, Sept. 26 – Steering and Suspension Systems Overview [PDF: 6.2 Mb, 68 pgs.]

#09 – Wednesday, Sept. 28 – Slopes and Static Stability [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#10 – Monday, Oct. 3 – Liquid Mobility [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#11 – Wednesday, Oct. 5 – Case Study: Lunar Mobility [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#12 – Monday, Oct. 10 – TBD

#13 – Wednesday, Oct. 12 – Robotic Sensors [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#14 – Monday, Oct. 17 – Case Study: MER/MSL Mars Rovers [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#15 – Wednesday, Oct. 19 – Steering and Tracked Vehicles [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]
            Midterm draft of term projects due

#16 – Monday, Oct. 24 – TBD

#17 – Wednesday, Oct. 26 – Case Study: Space Exploration Vehicles [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#18 – Monday, Oct. 31 – Climbing [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#19 – Wednesday, Nov. 2 – Robotic Actuators [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#20 – Monday, Nov. 7 – TBD

#21 – Wednesday, Nov. 9 – Legged Locomotion Overview [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#22 – Monday, Nov. 14 – Mobile Robot Kinematics [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#23 – Wednesday, Nov. 16 – Localization, Bug Algorithms, and Path Planning [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#24 – Monday, Nov. 21 – Roadmap Methods, Potential Fields, and Kinematics [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#25 – Monday, Nov. 28 – Final Project Rubric, Steering, and Flexible Wheels [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#26 – Wednesday, Nov. 30 – TBD

#27 – Monday, Dec. 5 – Independent Suspension Calculations and Wheel Steering Torque Estimation [PDF: X Mb, Y pgs.]

#28 – Wednesday, Dec. 7 – TBD

#29 – Monday, Dec. 12 – TBD
            Final report on term projects due